ATHENA Award® Luncheon

About the EventSubmit A NomineeSponsors Apply Here2020 AthenasPast Award RepresentativesPast Event ArchivePhoto AlbumsRequest Information

Honoring women leaders, the Southwest Indiana Chamber has proudly hosted the annual ATHENA Award® Luncheon since the 1990s. Reflecting critical importance of women in the community, hundreds of local women have been nominated, hundreds of local women have been celebrated as Athenas, and 28 leaders have been recognized as ATHENA Award® representatives.

Representatives of the ATHENA Award® are exceptional leaders in the Evansville-area community that have actively and generously assisted others in the attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills.

Chicago-based ATHENA International is a nonprofit organization founded in 1982 by Martha Mertz. In addition to supporting, developing, and honoring women leaders, the organization seeks to create balance in leadership worldwide and inspire women to achieve their full potential. Since the program’s inception in 1982, nearly 6,000 leaders in more than 500 communities have received the ATHENA Award®.



ATHENA Award Nomination Forms

Completed nominations received by January 30, 2020 will be carefully reviewed by an impartial selection committee. The 2020 ATHENA Award recipients will be announced at the 29th Annual ATHENA Award® Luncheon on February 28, 2020.

Sponsors Apply Here

  • Hidden

2020 ATHENA Award Recipients

Left to Right: Lynn Lingafelter, Stephanie Terry, Nikki Davis, Alyssia Oshodi, Dr. Heidi Dunniway, Jean Hitchcock and Tara Barney

Healthcare Professional of the year
LYNN LINGAFELTER, Chief Operating Officer, Deaconess Hospital
— This award recognizes a woman who has distinguished herself in the healthcare industry and her community.

Non-Profit Professional
STEPHANIE TERRY, Executive Director, Children’s Museum of Evansville (cMoe)
— The recipient of this award will be someone who demonstrates professional excellence in leading an organization or program that serves the community with impact while also mentoring future community leaders, particularly women.

Entrepreneur of the Year
NIKKI DAVIS, ENGAGED! River Valley Magazine
— This award recognizes a woman who demonstrates the transformation of her dream into the reality of a product or service and who exhibits the traits of an entrepreneur.

Rising Star of the Year
ALYSSIA OSHODI, Senior Communications Specialist, Vectren – A CenterPoint Energy Company
— This award recognizes a woman, under age 35, who has distinguished herself as a leader and role model to other young women in her profession.

Executive of the Year
DR. HEIDI DUNNIWAY, Regional Chief Medical Officer , St. Vincent Evansville
— The recipient of this award demonstrates professional excellence, community service and an active role in a service or program that assists other women in the attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills.

Educator of the Year
JEAN HITCHCOCK, Executive Director/Principal, Signature School
— The recipient of this award will be someone whose talent, creativity and vision are exemplary in developing and preparing female students for the corporate workplace.

Past Award Representatives

2019: Susan Parsons
2018: Chris Ryan
2017: Jan Davies
2016: Sara Miller
2015: Parri Black
2014: Sheila Huff
2012: Barb Butler
2011: Lynn Miller Pease
2010: Kathy Shoettlin
2009: Susan Hardwick
2008: Cathlin Gray
2007: Sally Rideout Lambert
2006: Lois Duncan
2005: Jane Wittmer
2004: Donna Leader
2003: Kristen Tucker
2002: Lucy Himstedt
2001: Linda White
2000: Lisa Collins
1999: Catherine Kelly
1998: Joan David
1997: Nancy Hartley Gaunt
1996: Meg Dettwiler
1995: Joyse Briding Rivers
1993: Marjorie Soyugenc
1992: Carolyn Georgette
1991: Diane Floyd
1990: Roxy Baas

Past Event Archive


Women leaders are making our community the dynamic place we live and work today. Women are running our largest manufacturing facilities, guiding and teaching our …


Which female leaders are breaking through in our community? You can find out later this month as, for the first time, multiple 2020 ATHENA Award® …

Susan Parsons named Class of 2019 Athena Award Representative

Susan Parsons is this year’s local ATHENA Award Representative. Susan Parsons is the Chief Financial officer and Board member for Koch Enterprises. Susan takes time to help …

2019 Athenas Announced

December 4, 2018 The 2019 Athenas: • Gina Gibson – Executive Director at Evansville Christian Life Center • Mary Kessler – Dean of Education and …

2018 ATHENA Award® Finalists Announced – Award acknowledges and honors outstanding women leaders in the community

The 2018 Athena Award® Finalists Are: • Barb Daum – Director of Quality/Project Executive at Skanska • Danyelle Granger – Vice President, Diversity & Inclusion …

Sara Miller Named 2016 ATHENA Award Recipient

Sara Miller Named 2016 ATHENA Award® Recipient Sara Miller of Old National Bank is this year’s local ATHENA Award winner. Miller is the southern region …

Finalists for ATHENA Award Announced

Finalists for ATHENA Award® Announced The Southwest Indiana Chamber today announced the 10 finalists for the 2016 ATHENA Award®. Nikki Davis Executive Director SMILE on …

Parri Black Named 2015 ATHENA Award® Recipient

Parri Black Named 2015 ATHENA Award® Recipient Parri Black, president and chief executive officer of Youth First, Inc., today was recognized as recipient of the …

Chamber Announces 2015 ATHENA Award Finalists

ATHENA Award® Finalists Announced The Southwest Indiana Chamber today announced the 10 finalists for the 2015 ATHENA Award®. Parri Black President and Chief Executive Officer …

HealthSouth Deaconess CEO to Retire

HealthSouth Deaconess CEO to Retire Barbara Butler, CEO of HealthSouth Deaconess Rehabilitation Hospital, will retire from her position November 2014. Barb began her career as …

Loading Photo Albums…

Request Information

For more information about the ATHENA Award Luncheon, to purchase seats, or to inquire about sponsorship opportunities, email Karen Robinson, manager of events, or call 812-425-8147.

  • Hidden